To us, here and now, it appears thus.

rants, ramblings and other things that make life worth living…

Flexing my fingers.

with 2 comments

It’s been quite a while since I wrote anything of any significance these days. My blog seems to have moved into a more or less vegitative state. Also, since I am in line for quite some writing in the coming days ahead I think Its about time I did some emergency CPR here and get this blog back to life. Anyway, as a start, maybe I should start with a story. No, its not one about damsels in distress and charming princes. Its a more mundane story about programming.

This happened not so long ago, I’ve always been a pretty good C++ programmer, and of late I’ve been doing a lot of my programming in python. Python, if I hadn’t mentioned before, is this amazing dynamic language which is amazingly easy to use and more importantly maintain. Its one great language, except for its speed. For most practical purposes I never had any problems with the speed of python. But, sometimes when you have to wait for an hour to get some output on some data you are processing, it gets irritating. The task here was simple decipherment. I was basically using the EM algorithm (or to be more precise, the forward backward algorithm) for deciphering a piece of text. I managed to write a pretty good implementation of it in python, but it was slow – real slow.

So, I sat down and rewrote the forward backward algorithm in C++ (in the time that my python program was running) and the speed difference was unbelievable. My C++ code went 40 times faster than my hand optimized, psyco-compiled python code. If you have programmed in both C++ and python, you already knew that. C++ is faster than python, atleast 10-fold on the average. But thats not the lesson here.

The most amazing thing was, I actually managed to write, debug and get a working version of the C++ program in less time than I would have expected it to take. That’s the most surprising part. So, I’ve decided to share my experience with you guys. One of the main things that really helped me during my C++ development was not only did I have a very clear goal of what I am doing (which most software projects rarely have), but I also had a very clear goal of how I was going to do it. This was because, I had already implemented my original version in python.

Python, as someone has already said, is executable psuedo-code. Not only did I have a very clear idea of what data structure to use where, How to model the various elements (in this case, the plain text, the cipher text, etc..) and how my models interact with each other. This was all ready done, the only thing remaining was more or less manual translation from python to C++. The whole lesson here is that python is not only a great language for exploratory programming, but its a great language to prototype as well.

I am sure, that if I had started all this in C++ from the beginning, I would have been just too lazy to do all the refactoring that my code would have required. Changing from one type of object-method interface to another is pretty much a pain in C++. On the other hand, by the time I had my python code running, not only was it a correct working version, but a well designed version as well. Any screw-ups in the initial design were promptly corrected without too much effort. Any useless “just in case virtual functions” that would have cropped up in my C++ were not there because, refactoring is so easy in python that you can add them as you go. And most of all, you can test for all the bigger logical errors that occur when you have multiple objects interacting with each other in a complicated program in a python program easier than in a C++ program.

As, an unexpected side effect, I picked up a couple of good habits from python that I would have never bothered to do in C++ for my hobby programming. For example, unit-testing. I do write unit-tests, only if my projects get big enough that I think Its worth the trouble, but with python, you always have this simple if __name__ == '__main__' which serves as a poor man’s unit test. Not too much trouble, yet worth the every second you invest in writing simple tests there. These days, I do it as a matter of habit for all my python modules, and thats one good habit that spontaneously extended to my C++. With a bit of preprocessor magic, you can do pretty much the same type of poor-man’s unit-testing in C++ as well, and this did save me some pain later.

Now, that I’ve rather incoherently rambled on, I would like to summarize my experience. With, python you can not only prototype with great speed and get a clean implementation, you also end up picking up a lot of good habits on the way, that not only makes you a better python programmer, but a better C++ programmer as well!.

Signing off,
Vishnu Vyas

Written by vishnuvyas

November 11, 2007 at 9:32 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It sounds very funny that it is possible to write a completely new program from the scratch while some other normal program is running. I never new phyton is so slow..

    edgarsr

    November 23, 2007 at 11:27 pm

  2. Not that python is slow for regular tasks, its just slow when you want to do heavy machine learning stuff with it.

    For most normal applications (shell scripts, data reports, simple text processing) python is fast enough.

    vishnuvyas

    November 24, 2007 at 7:29 am


Leave a Reply

