To us, here and now, it appears thus.

rants, ramblings and other things that make life worth living…

A Tragic Loss.

with 4 comments

Famed crocodile hunter Steve Irwin has died. A tragic loss – especially to his family and his fans.

I only knew him through his shows on television and I always liked the charismatic crocodile hunter. For a geeky kid, growing up with animal planet and discovery channel was all that was there in terms of TV.I still remember the days while I would issue diktats to my parents to switch channels, just because I needed to watch him go “Cirkey …” or wrestle crocodiles and list out the top 10 venomous creatures of Australia.

In-fact I always harboured a secret love for snakes, which was fulfilled only on television. I still remember the nights as a kid where I would imagine myself handling venomous snakes. And within the realm of my imagination I could be him, and yet wake up the next morning without being mortally wounded and with all my limbs intact. To me, he was a hero.

He was an icon in exposing the wonders of the natural world that most of us would be comfortable ignoring. He was a champion of animal causes. Its is only tragic that he had to go, the way he did.

The world has lost a great advocate for conservation and animal welfare. He might be quirky and might have challenged the odds, but still its a loss that we shall come to mourn.

Signing off,
Vishnu Vyas

Written by vishnuvyas

September 4, 2006 at 3:16 pm

Posted in Free Writing, General

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think the cry went ‘Crikey’…

    Mukundan

    September 5, 2006 at 3:58 pm

  2. yeah, something like that..

    vishnuvyas

    September 5, 2006 at 8:17 pm

  3. :))

    Mukundan

    September 6, 2006 at 12:52 pm

  4. Hamond

    An empty sack cannot stand upright…

    Cornelius

    October 31, 2006 at 4:09 am


Leave a Reply

