To us, here and now, it appears thus.

rants, ramblings and other things that make life worth living…

Nature vs. Nurture.

with 5 comments

Nature vs. Nurture, one of the hottest debate in academia gets a shot in the arm with Stephen J. Dubner and Steven D. Levitt of the Freakonomics fame getting involved. Here is a short excerpt from the article (link).

"expert performers, whether in memory or surgery, ballet or computer programming, are nearly always made, not born. And yes, practice does make perfect. These may be the sort of cliches that parents are fond of whispering to their children. But these particular cliches just happen to be true."

However, even though we might not all be born equal, "Practice still makes perfect".

"This is not to say that all people have equal potential. Michael Jordan, even if he hadn't spent countless hours in the gym, would still have been a better basketball player than most of us. But without those hours in the gym, he would never have become the player he was."

Now we just have to wait for the rebuttual from the Nature camp.

Signing Off,
Vishnu Vyas.

Written by vishnuvyas

May 7, 2006 at 4:26 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It was always a question of percentage..They’ll never decide which plays a greater percentage role…Not in this life

    Mukundan

    May 14, 2006 at 2:36 pm

  2. I certainly hope it isn’t so, and infact, I favour the nurture side more than the nature side.

    Vishnu Vyas

    May 15, 2006 at 6:52 pm

  3. Hey- interesting post- I think its definetely a mixture of both..a lot of people are born naturally talented, but its the nurturing part of it that makes them extraordinary.
    Anyways! Im trying to get around to as many Indian bloggers as I can, asking for their help so I’ll stop there- I’m an Australian Indian doing a major work where I need heaps of surveys filled out, which is really hard for me considering I don’t know many Indians living in India. So it would be really awesome if you had the time to visit my online survey and fill it out. Heres the site–

    http://www.my3q.com/home2/107/elizag/50097.phtml

    Thanks heaps!

    Eliza

    May 23, 2006 at 6:09 am

  4. Okeedoughkee!

    REPLY

    What most I seek
    From words and press…
    Is hope to keep
    My organized mess,
    My brain, my skill
    at best, you see,
    And thus show world…
    the talent I be.
    Oh true,
    there’s much to learn.
    I know.
    And practice
    what I preach…

    then sow.

    But still
    Like baby steps
    In time…
    I’ll wander out
    and grab what’s mine!
    I’ll take that bull
    by horns and tail
    And sling him far.
    Just watch him sail!
    No Crystal Shop
    to crash and break.
    Just words to write
    and art to make.

    Thank You. Just a little ditty in reply.
    While learning how to use cyberspace…another challenge in this pathetic life. Nurture me…nurture me…nurture me…

    Check my blog out, comment, help me make it a space to relax.
    At the moment it’s just a….self nurturing environment gone askew…so I ask you…help!

    Kristine

    May 26, 2006 at 12:34 pm

  5. Well, i do think that nature and nurture have an equal amount of affect on the way you turn out, but i am doing a paper for my 12th grade english course and if anybody can help me find any information on it can you please email it to me. I am having difficulties finding enough information for ten pages. Thank you and i would greatly appreciate your effort to help me…

    –Jalesa
    —-J_jay247@yahoo.com

    Jalesa

    January 26, 2007 at 3:22 am


Leave a Reply

